jump to navigation

Yo Quiero Taco Bell May 10, 2006

Posted by fajita in family.
trackback

We're accidental dog owners. I can't believe it. We own a chihauhua. Phoebe (formerly known as Baby) arrived in our back yard Monday uninvited. She was obviosuly well taken care of and wore a pink shirt – no lie.

I am not against many things, but there are a few things I cannot tolerate:

1. People dressed up like food on commercials (Burger King – I'm done with you)

2. "Lost" is not on every single night.

3. Animals dressed up like people.

Phoebe was dressed like a person and I was immediately against that. But, that quaking little feeble-boned critter did strike a little chord in my heart. Of course the kids loved her – "Can we keep her?"

"No!"

"Pleeeeeeeease!"

"No! We are going to find the owner and give her back. Look, she's so lonely and needs her family."

All the while I had this feeling that this was going to be our dog. My wife dutifully put up signs all over the place – "FOUND DOG"

After about 36 hours, a call came to claim the dog. I still felt like some way, some how, this was going to be our dog. It's not that I wanted this to be our dog. No, it was nothing like that.

When the owner came over, she was happy to see the little critter, but not happy enough, for my taste. After several "thank-you" and "you're such nice people," she says, "have your kids gotten attached to her? <my son was standing right there> because my husband says we have too many animals and if the people who found her, like her, they can have her." Did I mention my 6 year old, loves this dog, can't play with her enough, was standing right there? Did I say that because that is what happened.  

My wife, who is opposed to pets, looked at me without total opposition to this dog, and my son looked at me with a "please don't betray me" look: what else could I do?

We own a dog.

I like Phoebe, who was named Phoebe by the kids almost immediately. We found out from the <former> owner that her name was Baby. Well, that's not working for us and Phoebe it is.

Now if I can just get her to say, "Yo quiero Taco Bell," I'm taking her to the drive through.

Comments»

1. TCS - May 10, 2006

I did a new taco bell that I need to take pictures of. Can I borrow your dog?

2. bek - May 11, 2006

too cute – and i agree – gotta lose the pink shirt

3. Justin Mundie - May 11, 2006

I’m not entirely convinced that she didn’t stake out your house and plant the dog in the backyard for the expess purpose of getting rid of it.

4. fajita - May 11, 2006

Justin, the thought has crossed my mind. Poop in the house count up to 4.

5. Beaner - May 11, 2006

If Lost was on every night I might just poop in the house too! 😉

6. Drea - May 13, 2006

I love chihuahuas. My friend Molly had a mini chihuahua. It was like a extra friendly rat. Although she wasnt very friendly around men… or other dogs. :-\
Cute though.

And yes. Lost should be on more!
I cant believe two people just died on the show… especially Hurleys Girl… made me sad.


Leave a Reply

