jump to navigation

I’m Back May 22, 2006

Posted by fajita in Blogging, family.
trackback

I am back from my first ever blog fast, and I am ready to get going. Me and my family were in St. Paul, Minnesota looking for houses and I had my state licensure exam for marriage fanmily therapy. I passed. Yippeeeeeeee! This is a big deal becuase now I can proactice MFT in Minnesota when we move for my doctoral studies.

We visited the children's museum of Minnesota and had a great time. My son loved the area where you climb into a bear's den. That was really cool. What was a little less cool was when he insisted I climb into it too. WHat was somewhat cool was that I did, in fact, fit into the bear's den. What was not cool was that I had to crawl on my knees. The problem with that is that my family has a history of arthritis and although I have never been diagnoised with it, there are those times when I think I might be on the verge of something like that.

We also spent some time at the best park in Minneapolis – Minnehaha Park. There is a river that goes through the park and this waterfall in this picture is beautiful. The park is huge, with large oak tress, tones of frisbee and soccer areas, wooded paths along the river, and stone stairs on both sides of the river. This park is a Minnesota gem.

Not to be outdone, St. Paul has Como Park. This park is set on Lake Como, full of fish and fun. Walking, biking and skating paths cirlce the lake. Within the park is a free zoo, an amusement park like a really nice county fair, and there is also tons of picnic and sporting facilities. There is an 18n hole golf course in the park wchich doubles as a skiing and tubing facility in the winter. Como Park also has the nation's largest conservatory with award winning flowers blloming year round. It's free and great break from the winter blahs.

Both of these parks are truly wonderful places for good and mostly free fun.

Now, if someone would just buy our Jonesboro house and if we could just get into something in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul) within a reasonable price ranger, we'll ahev a lot off of our shoulders.

On another note, our new little dog almost got its little chihuahua neck wrung by me because she nipped my son's cheek and drew blood. Granted, he was egging her on against my direction, but when an animal draws blood from my child, the animal is always wrong – period. We still ahve the dog, but she is on probation in my eyes.  

Comments»

1. Beaner - May 22, 2006

I think I’ve been to Minehaha Park when my husband & I were dating….let’s see…it was 12 years ago! That waterfall looks REALLY familiar. I remember we went on a hike & saw where the Mississippi River starts too. There were these cool trees with their roots all sticking out of the ground. Is that the same park???? (My husband was an intern at the Milwaukee Reperatory Theatre, which is why we were there)

2. TCS - May 22, 2006

glad to have you back.

3. fajita - May 22, 2006

Minnehaha park is in Minneapolis. The source of the Mississippi is further north, at Lake Itasca.

It is great to be back.

4. Beaner - May 23, 2006

Hmmm….I’ve only been to Minneapolis, so I must’ve had my Miss. River info. wrong – thanks!


Leave a Reply

