jump to navigation

Psalm 5 Reloaded June 15, 2006

Posted by fajita in Christianity, emerging church/emergent, Post-restoration/Restoration Movement, Psalms Reloaded.
trackback

God, whew! I really need you to listen to me on this one. I’m worn out physically, emotionally and spiritually. In fact, let me just cry out a little. OK; better. You’re my Best Friend, if you won’t hear me no one will. I’m not going to pray to anyone else.

 

From the very moment I wake up in the morning, you are waiting on the edge of your seat waiting to hear what I will say. I can’t wait to wake up because I know you’re waiting for me. And when I bring my request to you, I can’t wait for your answer.

 

Why so confident? You are all about good and none about bad. I know that nothing bad can stand to be in your presence. Evil people are grossed out by you, which is just fine with me. People who are so puffed up and full of themselves get their bubbles burst when they get near you. In fact, it is you who pop their bubbles. People who have deceit and violence in their hearts and minds run into a buzz saw when they try to get on stage with you.

 

But I’m not into all that violence and deceit. No, I’m just into accepting your generous invitation to hang out in your house. To get a privilege like that, whoa, I have to take my ball cap off because hanging out in your house is way too good for me. I look at your temple and fall on my face. I’m not worthy! I’m not worthy! 

I want to be like you. I want to be good. I want to make it in this life. Make the way before me obvious because there are people trying to get me. Tell me what to do and I’ll do it.

 

Although they might make sense, those people who are against me cannot be trusted ever. All they can think about is hurting me, killing me. Lies, lies, lies! If I were to believe what they tell me I would take a quick trip to the cemetery and never leave.

 

God, you are the Decider. You know they are guilty. Say so. Nail them to the wall. Show them for what they are, frauds. Give them the punishment they deserve. Why wait? They have done this to themselves. They were foolish enough to be against you.

 

But for us, we get to rest in your house, your fortress… and we’re loving it. We write songs about how great it is to be with you and sing them all the time. We all love you so much. We celebrate within the walls of your protection.

 

All we did was to agree with you and look what you’ve done. We are doused in your approval and protected by your affirmation. Sweet!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

