jump to navigation

Finding Our Way July 30, 2006

Posted by fajita in family, Grad School Life.
trackback

Well, the week in Northern Minnesota was very much like a July week in Abilene, except for the desert, the lake, the forest, and the great fishing. OK, only the heat was like Abilene, but many is it hot up here. 102 is expected on Monday.

It was healing indeed. I am grateful for the beuty of Northern Minnesota and want to tak e full advantage of it every single season of the year including Winter.

We’re up to our ears in boxes at my sister’s suburban home here in the Twin Cities (Minneapolis/St. Paul). We’ll be living at my sister’s for a while since we lost our shirts let our house go for a great price. She’s fine with it and doesn’t mind a little rental income. Most importantly, my wife is OK and finding ways to adjust. The kids get to see their Auntie Amy daily, so this is dream come true for them. And me, well, what can I say but, “Where’s the bus station?”

I’ll be riding public transit for the first time in my life. Not a bad deal in the Twin Cities via the University special. $62 per month to ride as much as I want – even the light rail train that goes here and there. I don’t even have to be trying to get to the university to get the deal. We’ll see how the ride is before I start falling in love with public transit.

Peace, more blogging coming up. Thanks for all the well-wishing. It means a lot to me.

Comments»

1. LW - July 31, 2006

The heat in Jonesboro is about the same. If you miss the mosquitoes I’ll send you some. I have enough in my backyard for the entire state of MN.
You like to people watch so I bet the bus ride will be interesting. I hope those boxes and you have a more permanent home soon. Keeping looking up!
LW

2. Justin - July 31, 2006

Glad to hear things are going well! I’ve always wanted to be a public transit guy, but, as I’m sure you know, the south isn’t big on riding trains or buses, so they really don’t go anywhere that you need to go.

Good luck with school. Will you be at Zoe again this year? I’d like to meet you in person.

3. fajita - July 31, 2006

No Zoe. Bummed, but can’t do it. Would love to read your blog report about it when it comes around.

4. julie - August 1, 2006

Sounds like you are at the beginning of an amazing journey. Can’t wait to hear more about it. I am bummed that you won’t be at Zoe. I loved our small Sunday dinner conversation and would like to have talked more. I have been keeping up through your blog…life is good.


Leave a Reply

