jump to navigation

Best Wedding Ever – Period! August 19, 2006

Posted by fajita in General.
trackback

signed-sealed-delivered.JPGI am not sure how to describe the wedding of Caleb Hawley and Samantha O’Keefe besides saying that it was the best wedding have ever attended (let’s go ahead and factor out my own of course).

My wife and I arrived at the pavilion in Tartan Park, just east of St. Paul, Minnesota just in time. Picnic tables were covered in colored (looked dyed) paper, the band was off to the left and near the front, and it was packed. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I knew it would be different than any wedding I had ever been to before.

Caleb, you see, is an unpredictable musician whose mind is incapable of conforming to the world in which he lives. His sense of humor comes at you from Pluto and catches you off guard every time. Samantha has a vibrant and uninhibited personality and she can sing you right into a hypnotic state in about 4 seconds.

So, rather than Pachelbel’s Canon or some other traditional wedding music, this wedding got started off by the band: “Is everybody readyyyyyyyyyy?” It was like a call to worship and the crowd was ready.

There was a cheer and the band unleashed a great mix of classic rock and pop songs to send the wedding party down the aisle. Caleb and his father Dale walked down first to an uprorar of applause and cheers. They walked relaxed and looked like they were having a great deal of fun.

Then the next person in the order to go down the aisle was a boy of 12, perhaps. The music shifted to something almost Asian sounding on the electric guitar. When he walked, he had this look on his face that I had seen some place before, but just couldn’t place it. Then, about half way down the aisle, he starts moving his hands with some kind of martial arts ninja hand motions and then he treated us all to a few ninja kicks. He was applauded as well.

In fact, everyone walking down the aisle got theme music and generous applause. You have got to understand that there was no cue to applaud everyone. You couldn’t help youself.

“I Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You” brought Samantha down the aisle. Everyone stood and applauded.

Dale, Caleb’s father, officiated the wedding, told some stories and did a fine job. The best thing he said was, “First, sing to each other.” As they will head off into the world of music (probably Nashville), they will need to keep this in mind.

Then it was time for the vows. Samantha lead caleb over to the place where the band was set up, grabbed the microphone and sang the vows song she had written. It was a perky pop jazz kind of sound with the band backing her up. In the middle of the song, she came down from the stage to where caleb was standing and said, “Dance with me,” and they danced. Cheers from everyone. Then she finished her song.

When her song was over, caleb took the mic and looked at the groomsmen who were decked out in charcoal grey shirts, pinstriped pants, suspenders and bright solid colored ties (they looked like a cool jazz band) and said, “Come on boys.”

They started a sort of Billy Joel “For the longest time” acappella backup singer sound as Caleb sang his vows. He interacted well with Samantha and his back up singers. At one point one of the back up singer began to sing words to the vows song and Caleb pushed him out of the way and said, “Hey, these are my vows.” Hilarious and well choreographed. Then, without notice or even reason, the song changed into a rap song in which Caleb found a way to fit the words, “ninja’s knife” into his vows. And somehow it was totally appropriate.

They exchanged rings. Somewhere in there we sang, “Holy, Holy, Holy.”Verse 1 was acappell a and the second two verses were instrumental with a funk guitar sound or something. I can’t really describe it, but it was very well done. They signed their marriage license in front of everyone and had official witnesses. Then they kissed – Caleb gave Samantha a dip and kissed her passionately. The band cranked up “Signed Sealed Delivered, I’m Yours,” and they came down the aisle.

Great live saxophone music during the meal. Upbeat and fun. Then, after the meal, the wedding party treated us to a choreographed performance with the band playing. You’ve never seen people having more fun in your whole life.

Thanks to Caleb and Samantha for being themselves and giving us so much joy on your wedding day. May you continue to do in your marriage and through your marriage what you did on your wedding day. God has given you both something that blesses many.

Comments»

1. Jeanna (Beaner) - August 19, 2006

Almost as good as my Star Wars Wedding! 😉

Seriously, my husband walked to the front of the church to the ‘Emperor’s Theme’ and I came down the aisle to ‘Princess Leia’s Theme’ (main Title where the music gets softer) and then our exit song was the ‘Ewok Celebration Song’. Why be boring?

2. fajita - August 19, 2006

Oh my, a star wars wedding. I wish I could ahve seen it.

3. Rhonda & Ed Peek - August 20, 2006

AWESOME WEDDING!!! EVEN AWESOMER RECEPTION!!! Not every day does a Grandma get to dance with her grandson to Michael Jackson music!! Caleb & Samantha, you are beautiful I admire you & your desire to have “your own style wedding”. I feel so fortunate to be there for the “One Time Performance”. It was a wedding to remember!!

The Peeks

4. rn cook - September 3, 2006

Well i am getting married this 27th of december and i should say until my wedding is done it will be the cheapest every celebrated, this is only my personal view. I am getting married in our local town hall, our budget was not more than $5,000. I told my fiance that I will choose my dress, shoes and jewelries to wear. We started shopping last week, amazingly i visited bloomingdale’s the gown was on the sale rack that tags additional 40% discount, the original price was $372, and now it’s only $111, i was stunned when i only paid $61, my excitement didn’t stop there when i saw a black party dress for $26.15 and it was a huge surprise on my part when i only paid $15 dollars, i was dumbfounded and stunned. What can i say, my endless search for best sale price hit in JC Penney jewelry section I bought my bracelet 10 k, earrings 14 k, and necklace 14 k all white gold, the price was amazingly bargain it only cost me $272. My fiance was very happy obviously as I brought him to Marty’s one of the famous shoe stores here in east coast, we spent there like one hour to find the shoes that fits my small feet. I was very lucky that day to only pay $14.50 for my pair of shoes, and of course I encouraged my lovely boyfriend to get himself a pair too, he was ecstatic to pay the men’s shoes for only $34.50. Right now we have bought invitation cards, thank you cards and give aways from a local dollar store. I wish I can show you all this nice little things that i have bought to show to you that wedding preparation isn’t that bad, it’s just finding the right deal. On tuesday we will be visiting the reception area, our guests will be approximately 30 and I think i am quite willing to pay for the reception and food at the cost of $33/per cover. I have saved on other things already, I will have a cost effective and decent wedding. So couples who wants to know about who am I? I don’t belong to the yuppies of wall street. I have inhereted the job of the hardworking florence nightingale.
P.S. The money we have saved will be spent in our honeymoon.

5. rn cook - September 3, 2006

Well i am getting married this 27th of december and i should say until my wedding is done it will be the cheapest ever celebrated, this is only my personal view. I am getting married in our local town hall, our budget was not more than $5,000. I told my fiance that I will choose my dress, shoes and jewelries to wear. We started shopping last week, amazingly i visited bloomingdale’s the gown was on the sale rack that tags additional 40% discount, the original price was $372, and now it’s only $111, i was stunned when i only paid $61, my excitement didn’t stop there when i saw a black party dress for $26.15 and it was a huge surprise on my part when i only paid $15 dollars, i was dumbfounded and stunned. What can i say, my endless search for best sale price hit in JC Penney jewelry section I bought my bracelet 10 k, earrings 14 k, and necklace 14 k all white gold, the price was amazingly bargain it only cost me $272. My fiance was very happy obviously as I brought him to Marty’s one of the famous shoe stores here in east coast, we spent there like one hour to find the shoes that fits my small feet. I was very lucky that day to only pay $14.50 for my pair of shoes, and of course I encouraged my lovely boyfriend to get himself a pair too, he was ecstatic to pay the men’s shoes for only $34.50. Right now we have bought invitation cards, thank you cards and give aways from a local dollar store. I wish I can show you all this nice little things that i have bought to show to you that wedding preparation isn’t that bad, it’s just finding the right deal. On tuesday we will be visiting the reception area, our guests will be approximately 30 and I think i am quite willing to pay for the reception and food at the cost of $33/per cover. I have saved on other things already, I will have a cost effective and decent wedding. So couples who wants to know about who am I? I don’t belong to the yuppies of wall street. I have inhereted the job of the hardworking florence nightingale.
P.S. The money we have saved will be spent in our honeymoon.


Leave a Reply

