jump to navigation

Had We Not Gone To War September 21, 2006

Posted by fajita in 9/11, General.
trackback

Obviously this conversation is moot. There is no going back. First of all, I don’t really know where I stand. When we went into Afghanistan, I was for it. When we went into Iraq, I was for it. But what a difference all these years make. It’s not that I am convinced that it was wrong (afghanistan or iraq), though I have my very serious concerns. My thinking goes in a different direction.

OK, let’s see if I can put into words what I intend to say. Could it be that the United States missed an opportunity to teach the world about the strength of our restraint rather than the strength of our might? Please, don’t hear me say “We should have done nothing.” If you go there, you’re not following me. I am not saying that we should be weak, rather I am saying that there is more than one way to be strong.

I think that 9/11 was so huge and so obviosuly painful that no one could ignore it. It was a different thing than all of the other attacks we’ve ever faced before – put togehter I would argue (and win). Since it was so huge, I believe that not taking a military response could have been framed in many ways other than weak.

I know that people are going to say that not responding militarily would invite more attacks, and maybe that is so. But we don’t know that. In fact, it’s a pretty huge assumption. Not responding could have given us leverage with the international communtiy. It could be that the world has been waiting for American power to be expressed through American restraint. Maybe the world is watching America to see how to use its power.

OK, here is what think would have happened:

1. Americans would have demanded an attack

2. When Bush didn’t attack, Republicans would have been beside themselves

3. America would not have been attacked because international securty would be where it is right now.

4. Democrats would have become more hawkish on war and talk of impeachment would rattle through the capital – but it wouldn’t happen.

5. Bush would not get re-elected.

6. Saddam Hussein would be all talk.

7. Iran and North Korea would be crazy still, but not as crazy as they are now.

8. Hugo Chavez would not be shooting his mouth off so much, and if he was, then no one would listen to him because international anti-american rhetoric would not be in vogue or even tasteful except for the super duper freaks.

9. And finally, Cubs win the World Series.

OK, tear me up.

Comments»

1. justinmundie - September 21, 2006

I agree with you Chris… it could either have been a great show of restraint that caused the world to rally behind us, or a sign of weakness for not responding. I mean, OBL said the reason he decided to attack us was because of our (lack of) response in Somolia.

I would agree that Bush loses election or is impeached if he does nothing. The Dems would run to the right and the Republicans would be a minority party for another 50 years.

But basically, what all this comes down to in my mind is this: can I support any war as a Christian, no matter how “just” it may seem?

The governments will do what they do and they will be God’s arm of justice. Romans 13 is clear on that. But Romans 12 tells us that we are to resist the evil doer and as much as it depends on us, live at peace with everyone. Oh, and the clencher “do not be overcome by evil but over come evil with good”

Fighting a war to protect our right to practice faith freely is against Christ. I can’t see it any other way. I’m pretty lax on interpretation on things and am willing to look from different perspectives, but I can’t rationalize supporting war anymore. It is not the way of our Lord.

2. CF - September 22, 2006

Sounds like the same blog you wrote on the 17th.

3. Marc - September 25, 2006

Based upon recent studies, it seems you could add “there would be fewer terrorists.”

Most important to me, however, the United States wouldn’t have lost so many brave and selfless sons, daughters, husbands, wifes, fathers, and mothers. As of yesterday, the U.S. military death toll in Iraq and Afghanistan surpassed the number of people killed on 9/11.

4. Fajita - September 25, 2006

Marc, good point. Did the investment of lives, money, resources, and a general sense of national direction that the war has demanded reduce the terror threat or the amount of people who ate us or their capabilities?


Leave a Reply

