jump to navigation

Late cocoon stage November 17, 2006

Posted by fajita in family, Family Science.
trackback

The transition to doctoral studies has been more challenging than I first believed it would be. As of yet, I do not believe that real me has been allowed to come out. What I mean by that is that I have been surviving and scoping the territory.

It takes a lot of energy to make a transition. It takes a lot more energy to make a transition with a family with young children. There are housing issues, schooling issues, the making of new friends, finding a decent grocery store, auto mechanic, and where is the free wi-fi (Panera and Breuggers)? So, with these and a million other changes, survival is the name of the game.

Secondly, I have to be comfortable with my surroundings in order for the very best of me to emerge. This has always been the case. The faster I can “own” my area the faster the very best of me will be allowed to walk that turf. If I cannot get my grip, then I function, but do not take the kind of necessary risks that are needed. I go into safe mode. Safe mode never works. Why? It’s not genuine or authentic. It gets me by, but over the long haul, it’s no good. It’s not creative, innovative, or intuitive.

The best of me takes risks, fails forward, creates, and is pretty darn funny. The best of me is not all too concerned about impressing anyone because that will happen or it won’t. The self-protective me is in many ways the opposite of my true me.

So, I hereby declare that it is time for me to be unleashed upon my new environment. I have been here long enough and I need to give this place a taste of who I really am.

Now, if I can just find a way to bust out of this cocoon.

Comments»

1. paul - November 17, 2006

Go get ’em Tiger,er, uh, Butterfly!

2. Yvette - November 17, 2006

Watch out, FSoS! LOL

3. fajita - November 17, 2006

Oh boy.

4. bek - November 17, 2006

fails forward – great phrase

5. Marc - November 17, 2006

Don’t forget your scarf, mittens, and boots — it’s also cold outside that cocoon!

6. Johnben Loy - November 17, 2006

Funny is good.


Leave a Reply

